top of page

What Are Chakras?

Chakras are centers of spiritual power that run along the center of the body. The word Chakra means “wheel” in sanskrit, referring to the constant rotational spin. When the chakra is running smoothly, these wheels spin and life-force energy flows freely through the body. Although many of these energy wheels exist, there are 7 main chakras and they run from the base of the spine to the top of the head. Root Chakra

  • Sanskrit word: Muladhara, meaning root support

  • The Root Chakra is located near the tailbone and pertains to our sense of security and survival.

  • This is the base of the entire chakra system.

  • The color of this chakra is Red.

  • Grounding is a very useful tool to help balance this chakra.

  • When this chakra is open and balanced we feel stable, focused, generous, passionate and fully of vitality.

Sacral Chakra

  • Sanskrit word: Svadhisthana, derived from two Sanskrit words, ‘Swa’ meaning ‘one’s own’ and ‘Adhisthana’ meaning abode or seat.

  • The Sacral Chakra is located 2 inches below the belly button and pertains to our individual creativity and sexuality.

  • The color of this chakra is Orange.

  • Expressing yourself artistically or sensually can be helpful to keep this wheel spinning.

  • When this chakra is open and balanced we are emotionally stable, sociable, curious, creative, and expressive.

Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Sanskrit word: Manipura, meaning lustrous gem.

  • The Solar Plexus Chakra is located at the top of the abdomen near the stomach area and pertains to our personal power, self-esteem, and drive.

  • This Solar Plexus is directly linked with our instincts; when we have a ‘gut feeling’ or inner knowing of what is good and bad.

  • The color of this chakra is Yellow.

  • Positive affirmations can be a great tool to keep this chakra clear.

  • When the Solar Plexus Chakra is open and balanced we feel motivated, confident, disciplined and expansive.

Heart Chakra

  • Sanskrit word: Anahata, meaning unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten.

  • The Heart Chakra is located in the center of the chest and pertains to our sense of love and compassion for self and others.

  • The color of this chakra is Green.

  • Showing kindness can aid in healing and aligning this chakra.

  • When our Heart Chakra is balanced, we experience compassion, love, harmony, connection and forgiveness.

Throat Chakra

  • Sanskrit word: Vishuddha, meaning especially pure.

  • The Throat Chakra is located in the center of the throat and pertains to our communication and expression.

  • The color of this chakra is Blue.

  • Writing and singing can be wonderful methods to move the energy in this chakra.

  • When our Throat Chakra is balanced and open, we experience truth, honesty and knowledge.

Third Eye Chakra

  • Sanskrit word: Ajna, meaning perceive or command.

  • The Third Eye Chakra is located between the eyebrows and pertains to our intuition, inner guidance and subconscious.

  • The color is Indigo.

  • When something is seen in the mind’s eye, or in a dream, it is being seen by the Third Eye Chakra.

  • Sound therapy, such as the vibration from crystal singing bowls, and crystals such as amethyst, can help unblock the energy of this chakra.

  • When our Third Eye Chakra is open and balanced, we experience a connection to wisdom and an enhanced perception of the subtle dimensions and movements of energy.

  • You gain the ability to see how past directions influence present choices which generate future outcomes.

Crown Chakra

  • Sanskrit word: Sahasrara, meaning thousand-petaled.

  • The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head and pertains to our consciousness and spiritual connection.

  • The color of this chakra is Violet.

  • Meditation and prayer are vital tools for working with this chakra.

  • Crown Chakra only really activates when we have transmuted much of the density in the lower chakras.

  • When our crown chakra is open and balanced, we experience an integration of our mind, body and spirit. We are able to gain insights to the complex underlying pattern of all that is.

Many things can cause our energy centers not to spin smoothly or be blocked. Emotional, physical, mental, or spiritual issues can throw us out of alignment. Working a little every day on balancing and clearing the chakras is good practice. Sometimes, there are deeper issues that we may not be aware of, and as a result, an energy healer can play an important role in helping us move the energy along. It’s never too late to begin. Start today! One last note: when you open and explore the chakras, realize that it is about going within to experience yourself. So you will have your own unique experiences which may not completely align with these interpretations. Let this be a guide, to use as a frame of reference for what may be encountered along your journey.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page